Chair of Renewable and Sustainable Energy Systems (ENS)

The turnaround in energy policy from fossil fuels to renewable energy is one of the major challenges in the 21st century. This transition evokes numerous technical, economic, legal and even social changes at both local and global levels.

The Chair of Renewable and Sustainable Energy Systems has a focus in energy system modeling. Models for different scales of time and space are developed to describe and understand present and future transition processes. Advanced methods for modeling technical and economical interactions are used to find optimal solutions with regard to economic benefits, external costs and environmental impacts are developed.

In addition, two other key aspects are to be built. Firstly, the theoretical and experimental development of future distribution networks as micro or smart grids. This is done in close cooperation with the Munich School of Engineering (MSE). The aim is to build a micro-grid in the new building for energy and information “Zentrum für Energie und Information”. The second new focus is the cooperation with developing countries and the possibility to make energy available safely and cheaply by using decentralized technologies in locations which are far from economic center.

Modelling of energy systems for smart micro grids
Optimal grid expansion planning in Europe
Technical and economic assessment of energy systems
Opimization for infrastructure planning with multiple energy carriers

Lehrstuhl für Erneuerbare und Nachhaltige Energiesysteme (ENS)

Der langfristige Umbau der Energiewirtschaft von fossilen zu nachhaltigen Energiequellen ist eine der zentralen Herausforderungen des 21. Jahrhunderts. Der Umbau setzt viele Veränderungen auf technischer und organisatorischer Ebene voraus.

Der Lehrstuhl für Erneuerbare und Nachhaltige Energiesystem hat einen Schwerpunkt in der Energiemodellierung. Modelle auf verschiedensten zeitlichen und geographischen Skalen werden entwickelt, um die Bedingungen des technischen aber auch organisatorischen Wandels zu verstehen. Dabei werden neue Methoden der Modellierung, die technische und physikalische Randbedingungen erfüllen und trotzdem gesellschaftliche und wirtschaftliche Aspekte berücksichtigen, entwickelt.

Daneben werden zwei weitere Schwerpunkte neu aufgebaut. Zum einen die theoretische und experimentelle Entwicklung zukünftiger Verteilnetze als Micro- oder Smart-Grids. Dies geschieht in enger Zusammenarbeit mit der Munich School of Engineering (MSE). Ziel ist der Bau eines Micro-Grids im neuen Zentrum für Energie und Information. Der zweite neue Schwerpunkt liegt in der Zusammenarbeit mit sich entwickelnden Ländern und der Möglichkeit durch neue dezentrale Technologien Energie auch weit ab von wirtschaftlichen Zentren sicher und preisgünstig bereit zu stellen.

Energiesystemmodellierung für Smart Microgrids
Optimierter Ausbau des Stromnetzes in Europa
Techno-ökonomische Bewertung von Energiesystemen
Spartenübergreifende Optimierung von Infrastrukturplanung